South Africa vs Nigeria: South Africa named 23-man killer squad

Ahead of South Africa vs Nigeria match. South Africa have named 23-man killer squad to face Super Eagle of Nigeria. The match will hold on November 17 at FNB Stadium in Johannesburg in South Africa.

South Africa coach Stuart Baxter, announced the squad on Monday although he admitted that it was difficult to put together the squad because of the injuries of some regular players in the team.

South Africa beat the Super Eagle of Nigeria in the first leg of the AFCON qualifiers at Uyo Stadium in Nigeria. But despite losing to South Africa, Nigeria is sitting on the top of the table with 9 points closely followed by the South African.

Speaking on the squad, the Bafana Bafana coach, said:

“It has really been a tough task to select the team to face Nigeria without some of our regular players, but we have to soldier on.

“These injuries could not have come at the worst of times when we really need to collect all three points because we are well aware of the importance of doing this,” Baxter.

“The positive side, however, is that this gives us a chance to introduce other players into the squad, and these are players we have been monitoring, so it is not like a knee-jerk reaction.

“This helps us to ensure that when we qualify for the tournament, we have an even bigger pool of players to choose from.

“I am also confident that the players brought in will do a good job,’’ Baxter was quoted as saying on the team’s official Twitter handle.

Below is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits.

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), S’fiso Hlanti(Wits), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Wits) Thamsanqa Mkhize (CT City).

Midfielders: Vincent Pule (Pirates), Lebohang Maboe (Sundowns), Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport), Tiyani Mabunda (Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates).

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union), Dino Ndlovu (Zhejiang), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Omotimehin Nelson is a Nigerian award-winning content writer. He derives passion for creative writing. Join me

%d bloggers like this: