PDP Presidential primaries: Who wins PDP Presidential Ticket?

The battle of who will become the PDP Presidential candidate will be fought today at the Port Harcourt, Rivers State. The winner will flag the flag of People Democratic Party for the 2019 Presidential election. Then Who wins PDP Presidential Ticket?

The battle is between the former Vice-President, Atiku Abubakar;  Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal;  Governor of Gombe State, Ibrahim Dankwambo;  a former governor of Kano State, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso;  a former governor of Sokoto State, Alhaji Attahiru Bafarawa.

Others are President of the Senate, Senator Bukola Saraki;  a former President of the Senate, David Mark;  a former Minister of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Relations, Alhaji Tanimu Turaki  (SAN); a former governor of Plateau State, Senator Jona Jang;  a former governor of Kaduna State, Senator Ahmed Makarfi; a former governor of Jigawa State, Alhaji Sule Lamido and Dr. Datti Baba-Ahmed.

Who wins PDP Presidential Ticket?

Meet the possible winner of PDP Presidential primaries.

Atiku Abubakar

Atiku Abubakar is a former Vice President of Nigeria between 1999 to 2007. He served as the second in command during the Obasanjo two-term tenure as President of Nigeria. He believes the ruling All Progressives Congress APC has moved Nigeria downward. Atiku noted that he has solutions to Nigeria numerous problems. He is also the most experience aspirant among the PDP aspirants after trying to be President for four times

Bukola Saraki

Bukola Saraki is currently the Senate President of Nigeria and a two-time Governor of Kwara State. He declared his intention to run for Nigeria number one seat while delivering a keynote address at a town hall for youths and young aspirants organized by the Not Too Young To Run Movement in Nigeria’s capital Abuja. Although Not Too Young To Run has dissociated themselves from Saraki’s declaration

Aminu Tambuwal

Tambuwal is the current Governor of Sokoto State and former Speaker of the House of Representation. He recently defected from the All Progressives Congress to the People Democratic Party. He has also picked the nomination form to contest for the PDP Primary. Tambuwal believes he is the right person to be President in 2018.

Ahmed Makarfi

Ahmed Makarfi is a two-time Governor of Kaduna State. A two-time Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Ahmed Makarfi was elected the National Chairman of PDP caretaker committee before handing over to Uche Secondus.

Rabiu Kwankwaso

Engr Rabiu Kwankwaso, a two-time Governor of Kano State. He served between 1999 (when Nigeria returned to democracy) to 2002 and 2011 to 2015. He said during his official declaration that he will offer Nigeria Positive change if elected President. If wins the PDP ticket, he will contest against the incumbent President Buhari.

Sule Lamido

Sule Lamido is a two-time Governor of Jigawa State. Also on the list of PDP Presidential Aspirants. He served as a Nigeria Foreign minister of Nigeria from 1999 to 2003. Lamido believes he has gathered experience to lead Nigeria to Promise land from 2019.

Ibrahim Dankwambo

Dankwambo is a sitting Governor of Gombe State. He joins the list of PDP Presidential Aspirants. He said while declaring his ambition to contest for presidency in 2018 and quoted “I have come to the realization that what Nigeria needs at this time is a man who can take the country on a journey to its best self, a man who can re-energize a people who have been so badly led that they have accepted a certain impotence as the reality of their lives


Omotimehin Nelson is a Nigerian award-winning content writer. He derives passion for creative writing. Join me

%d bloggers like this: