Name of 15 RECs confirmed by Senate

Name of 15 RECs confirmed by Senate. The Senate has confirmed the appointment of 15 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) out of the 27 names sent to it by the Presidency.

The confirmation followed consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on INEC presented by its acting Chairman, Sen. Suleiman Nazif during Thursday’s plenary.

The Senate resolved to confirm the remaining 12 nominees at a later date.

Name of 15 RECs confirmed by Senate

The name of 15 RECs confirmed by Senate listed below:

Names of REC State
Prof. Godswill Obioma Abia
James  Apam Benue
Dr Nwachukwu Orji Ebonyi
Dr Iloh Chuks Enugu
Dr Nentawe Yilwatda Plateau
Umar Ibrahim Taraba
 Mr Emeka Joseph Imo
Obo Effanga Cross River
Prof. Francis Ezeonu Anambra
Dr Briyai Frankland Bayelsa
Ibrahim Abdullahi Adamawa
Agboke Olaleke Ogun
Hussaini Pai Federal Capital Territory
Ahmad Makama Bauchi
Sadiq Musa Kaduna

Nazif had while presenting the reports, informed the Senate that although all the 27 nominees had been cleared by relevant security agencies, the committee was only able to conclude the screening of 15.

According to him, the committee had scrutinized all the relevant documents of the nominees and was satisfied with the qualification, experience and suitability of 15 nominees in the first batch.

The remaining 12 nominees are still undergoing screening by the committee,” Suleiman said.

Read Also:


Omotimehin Nelson is a Nigerian award-winning content writer. He derives passion for creative writing. Join me

%d bloggers like this: