Meet the winners of Access Bank Lagos Marathon 2018

Meet the winners of Access Bank Lagos Marathon 2018. The Kenyan-born 32-yr-old completed in 2:13:04hrs to emerge the winner of the third edition of the 2018 Access Bank  Lagos City Marathon 42km race on Saturday, carting away the grand prize of $50,000.

Abraham’s time set a new Lagos Marathon record, 3 mins better than the record set through his fellow compatriot, Abraham Kiptum in the 2rd edition of tourney held ultimate 12 months.

Meet the winners of Access Bank Lagos Marathon 2018

Kenyan duo of Ronny Kipkoech Kiboss and Benjamin Bitok came second and third finishing in 2:13:23hrs and a couple of:thirteen:29hrs, winning $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.

Within the woman class, it was a easy sweep with the aid of Ethiopia as the trio of Alemenesh Herpha Guta, Tigst Girma Getayechew and Ayelu Abebe Hordofa got here first, second and third to win $50,000, $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.

Iliya Pam changed into the primary Nigerian to complete the 42km race in 2:40:19hrs to win N3m; at the same time as Sharubutu Philbus came 2nd in 2:54:16hrs to win N2m and Kefas Williams also were given at the medals desk finishing third in a time of 2:58t:1hrs to win the 0.33 prize of N1m.

There were also prizes for Nigerians inside the newly introduced 10km race, which saw Sajo Ismaila (male) and Ona Salay (girl) force home a today’s saloon automobile each and other mouth-watering prizes.

Lagos Marathon 2018

Meet the winners of Access Bank Lagos Marathon 2018
Meet the winners of Access Bank Lagos Marathon 2018

The 42km race started out on the country wide Stadium, Surulere via 6:30 am and ended at the Eko Atlantic town in Victoria Island, whilst the 10km race also started out from Osborne and terminated additionally at the Eko Atlantic town with over 100,000 athletes battling for the numerous prize monies.

Dignitaries who graced the marathon consist of Minister of sports activities, Solomon Dalung; his counterpart in records and tradition, Alhaji Lai Mohammed; representative of chief of military staff, Major general David Amadu; trendy Officer Commanding eighty one division, foremost wellknown Enobong Okon Udoh; President of Nigeria soccer Federation (NFF), Amaju Pinnick; ex-outstanding Eagles international, Austin Jay Jay Okocha; British high Commissioner to Nigeria, Mr. Paul Arkwright among others.

Leave a comment


Omotimehin Nelson is the chief editor of as well the chairman of Nestec group that powered the news media He ventures into professional investigative journalism and he is now award-winning news and content writer. Connect with me for more