2019: Full list of PDP Presidential Aspirants and their profile

Hello People of Nigeria, We have compiled the full list of PDP presidential aspirants for delegates of the party who will choose the right person. A total of 12 aspirants are battling for the People Democratic party ticket.

Most of these aspirants have picked their presidential nomination forms while others are planning to do so. Many of them have declared publicly their interest to run for the presidency in the platform of PDP.

The full list of PDP Presidential Aspirants

So let meet the PDP Presidential Aspirants and their profile.

  1. Atiku Abubakar
  2. Rabiu Kwankwaso
  3. Sule Lamido
  4. Ibrahim Shakarau
  5. Aminu Tambuwal
  6. Bukola Saraki
  7. Ahmed Makarfi
  8. Attahiru Bafarawa
  9. Ibrahim Dankwambo
  10. David Jang
  11. Tanimu Turaki
  12. Datti Baba-Ahmed

Atiku Abubakar

Atiku Abubakar is a former Vice President of Nigeria between 1999 to 2007. He served as the second in command during the Obasanjo two-term tenure as President of Nigeria. He believes the ruling All Progressives Congress APC has moved Nigeria downward. Atiku noted that he has solutions to Nigeria numerous problems. He is also the most experience aspirant among the PDP aspirants after trying to be President for four times.

Rabiu Kwankwaso

Engr Rabiu Kwankwaso, a two-time Governor of Kano State. He served between 1999 (when Nigeria returned to democracy) to 2002 and 2011 to 2015. He said during his official declaration that he will offer Nigeria Positive change if elected President. If wins the PDP ticket, he will contest against the incumbent President Buhari.

Sule Lamido

Sule Lamido is a two-time Governor of Jigawa State. Also on the list of PDP Presidential Aspirants. He served as a Nigeria Foreign minister of Nigeria from 1999 to 2003. Lamido believes he has gathered experience to lead Nigeria to Promise land from 2019.

Ibrahim Shakarau

Shakarau is a former Minister of Education and former Governor of Kano State. He was elected in April 2003 and reelected in April 2007. Ibrahim Shakarau has publicly declared his ambition to run for the president under the umbrella of People Democratic Party PDP. Updated: He has pulled out of the Party and the Presidential race.

Aminu Tambuwal

Tambuwal is the current Governor of Sokoto State and former Speaker of the House of Representation. He recently defected from the All Progressives Congress to the People Democratic Party. He has also picked the nomination form to contest for the PDP Primary. Tambuwal believes he is the right person to be President in 2018.

Bukola Saraki

Bukola Saraki is currently the Senate President of Nigeria and a two-time Governor of Kwara State. He declared his intention to run for Nigeria number one seat while delivering a keynote address at a town hall for youths and young aspirants organized by the Not Too Young To Run Movement in Nigeria’s capital Abuja. Although Not Too Young To Run has dissociated themselves from Saraki’s declaration.

Ahmed Makarfi

Ahmed Makarfi is a two-time Governor of Kaduna State. A two-time Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Ahmed Makarfi was elected the National Chairman of PDP caretaker committee before handling over to Uche Secondus.

Attahiru Bafarawa

Alhaji Attahiru Dalhatu Bafarawa was governor of Sokoto State in Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007. While declaring his ambition to run for 2019 presidency, Bafawa was quoted to have said, “President Buhari is my student. I brought him into politics. I gave him a ticket to contest when I was the national chairman of the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Party. Therefore I know how to run the affairs of the country and the party.”

Ibrahim Dankwambo

Dankwambo is a sitting Governor of Gombe State. He joins the list of PDP Presidential Aspirants. He said while declaring his ambition to contest for presidency in 2018 and quoted “I have come to the realization that what Nigeria needs at this time is a man who can take the country on a journey to its best self, a man who can re-energize a people who have been so badly led that they have accepted a certain impotence as the reality of their lives.

Jonah David Jang

Jonah Jang is a former Governor of Plateau State and a serving Senator of Nigeria. He has picked the PDP nomination for to contest for the presidency comes 2019.

Tanimu Turaki

Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, a former minister of special duties and inter-governmental affairs between 2013 and 2015. He served as a supervising minister, Ministry of Labour and Productivity between 2014 and 2015. He is from Kebbi State.

Datti Baba-Ahmed

Yusuf Datti Baba-Ahmed was elected a member of House of Representatives in 2003 under the All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP) representing Zaria federal constituency in Kaduna state. He is the last on the list of PDP Presidential Aspirants.

David Mark

As people have already settled for the 12 PDP aspirants for the party. David Mark suddenly showed up. He declared his intention to run for the presidency. David Mark is former Nigeria Senate President. He is currently a serving Senator. HeHe believes he has gathered more experience to lead

Now you have it. The list of PDP Presidential Aspirants, one of these aspirants will emerge as PDP candidate on October 6. And he will contest against the incumbent President of Nigeria Muhammadu Buhari.



Omotimehin Nelson is a Nigerian award-winning content writer. He derives passion for creative writing. Join me

%d bloggers like this: