Full groups list of AFCON 2019 final draw

Nigeria was grouped with Burundi and Madagascar completing Group B alongside Guinea. Burundi and Madagascar will be making their debuts at the Afcon finals and given their inexperience on the continental stage, the Super Eagles would fancy their chances of making it past the group stages.

In Group C, Senegal and Algeria are strong favourites to progress as they were drawn against Tanzania and Kenya.

However, neither of the two countries can be taken for granted simply because of their exploits during their respective qualifying campaigns.

The group of death is certainly where Bafana Bafana find themselves. Stuart Baxter’s men are in the same group with former Afcon winners Morocco and Cote d’Ivoire. Namibia, who were in the same group with South Africa over 21 years ago, complete Group D.

In Group E, Angola and Mauritania would consider themselves unfortunate to be drawn in the same group as Mali and Tunisia, but the pair cannot be taken lightly despite their positions in the latest Fifa rankings.

Lastly, Group F comprises of Guinea Bissau, Benin, Ghana and Cameroon.

Both Ghana and Cameroon are regarded as the powerhouses of African football given their pedigree in the Afcon tournament, and the majority of fans expect them to battle for the No.1 spot in Group F.

Here is the full draw for Afcon 2019 finals: 

Group A: Egypt, Zimbabwe, DR Congo, Uganda

Group B: Burundi, Madagascar, Guinea, Nigeria

Group C: Tanzania, Algeria, Kenya, Senegal

Article continues below

Group D: South Africa, Namibia, Cote d’Ivoire, Morocco

Group E: Angola, Mauritania, Mali, Tunisia

Group F: Guinea Bissau, Benin, Ghana, Cameroon

Source: Goal.com


Omotimehin Nelson is a Nigerian award-winning content writer. He derives passion for creative writing. Join me