Breaking: APGA sweeps 24 seats of State Assembly in Anambra

The ruling All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) in Anambra has won 24 of the 30 member State House of Assembly to retain the majority in the legislature.

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP), which dominated the Presidential and National Assembly elections in the state, carted only six seats in yesterday’s polls to form the next minority caucus in the House.

A major upset was the defeat of incumbent Speaker, Hon. Rita Maduagwu to the PDP candidate in their Nnewi South II state constituency.

Breakdown of the result declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) indicates as follows:

Anambra Central District: APGA won nine seats. They are Anaocha II, Awka North, Awka South I, Awka South II Dunukofia, Idemmili North, Idemmili South, Njiko:ka I and Njikoka II.

The PDP won only one seat which is Anaocha I.

Anambra South District: APGA won eight seats. They are Aguata I, Aguata II, Ihiala I, Ihiala II, Nnewi North, Nnewi South I, Orumba North and Orumba South.

The PDP won only two seats which are Ekwusigo and Nnewi South II.

Anambra North District: APGA won in Anambra West, Anambra East, Oyi, Onitsha North II, Onitsha South I and Onitsha South II, while PDP won in Onitsha North I, Ogbaru I and Ogbaru II constituencies.


Omotimehin Nelson is a Nigerian award-winning content writer. He derives passion for creative writing. Join me